Lab Members

Principal Investigator


Dr. Mike (Przemyslaw) Sapieha is the director of the Neurovascular Eye Disease Lab at the Maisonneuve-Rosemont Hospital Research Centre and holds the Wolfe Professorship in translational vision research and a Canada Research Chair in retinal cell biology. He is a professor in the departments of Ophthalmology and Biochemistry at the University of Montreal and an adjunct professor of Neurology and Neurosurgery at McGill University.

Mike Sapieha obtained his PhD in neuroscience and cell biology in 2005 at the University of Montreal. He subsequently pursued two postdoctoral fellowships: one in pharmacology at McGill University and the second in ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School. In 2010 he returned to Montreal and founded his laboratory. In 2018, he was elected a member of the College of the Royal Society of Canada.





Lab Staff

Agnieszka Dejda PhD: Lab Manager
M.Sc. – Microbiology,  University of Lodz

Ph.D. Medical Biology, Medical University of Lodz

Postdoc 1- INSERM U982, University of Rouen

Postdoc 2- INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier

Postdoc 3- University of Montreal









Ariel Wilson PhD: Research Associate


B.Sc. – Biology, McGill University

M.Sc. – Cell and molecular medicine, University of Ottawa

Ph.D. – Pathology and Cell Biology, University of Montreal

Postdoc- École Polytechnique de Montréal








Vera Guber BSc: Research Assistant


B.Sc.- Biochemistry and molecular medicine  University of Montreal.











Frédérique Pilon DEC: Research Assistant


DEC-  Biotechnology, Collège Ahuntsic, Montreal












Rachel Juneau DEC: Research Assistant


DEC-  Biotechnology, Collège Ahuntsic, Montreal












Postdoctoral Fellows


Célia Parinot PhD


B.Sc.- Science and Technology, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris 6

Ph.D.- Physiology and therapeutics, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris 6










Sergio Crespo PhD


B.Sc. – Biology, IE University, Spain

M.Sc. – Genetics and Cell Biology, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain

Ph.D. –  Bio-medicine, Charité Universtätsmedizin, Berlin

Interesting Facts:

-I like cellular senescence and popcorn.







Masayuki Hata MD, PhD


M.D.- Kyoto University School of Medicine

Ph.D. –  Medical Science, Ophthalmology, Kyoto University, Japan










Maki Hata MD, PhD


M.D. Okayama University School of Medicine

Ph.D. in Medical Science (plastic and reconstructive surgery), Osaka University Graduate School of Medicine, Japan







PhD Students

Gaelle Mawambo BSc


B.Sc.- Biochemistry and molecular medicine  University of Montreal.











Frederic Fournier BSc
B.Sc.- Biochemistry and molecular medicine   University of Montreal.
 M.Sc.- Business and Administration of Health   Services – École de Santé publique (UdeM).










Screen Shot 2018-03-16 at 1.38.39 PM
Elisabeth Andriessen BSc


B.Sc.- Medicine.  University of Amsterdam.







Roberto Diaz BSc


B.Sc.- Biochemistry and molecular medicine   University of Montreal.










Gabrielle Girouard BSc


B.Sc.- Biomedical Sciences

Dalhousie University.







Industrial partnership

Normand Beaulieu MSc-Research Scientist (SemaThera Inc)
Karine Beauchemin MSc- Research Scientist (SemaThera Inc)


M.Sc. – Biomedical sciences,  University of  Montreal .











Francois Binet PhD- Research Scientist (SemaThera Inc)
PhD Immunology-Virology
 INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier, Montreal.
Postdoc 1- University of Montreal
Postdoc 2 Uppsala University, Sweden,

Interesting facts: 

I like to play drums and ride my bike.

– My favorite color is blue.







Lab Alumni:

Past postdocs

  1. Malika Oubaha, PhD. Current: Professor University of Québec in Montreal
  2. Zhuo Shao MD, PhD. Current: Medical Geneticist. U of Toronto.
  3. Nicholas Tetrault, PhD. Current: Scientific director at Biron Inc.
  4. Flavio Rezende, MD PhD. Current: Head of Medical Retina, U of Montreal
  5. Agnieszka Dejda PhD. Current: Lab Manager
  6. Khalil Miloudi PhD.
  7.  Francois Binet PhD. Current: Senior Scientist SemaThera Inc.

Past graduate students:

  1. Catherine Menard. Current: Postdoc in Rudd Lab.
  2. Agustin Cerani. Current: PhD candidate in epidemiology, McGill.
  3. Nick Sitaras, PhD (Co-supervised with S. Chemtob) Current: Product Development Manager at MONTANA

Past Undergrads:

  1. 2019- Laura Blais
  2. 2017- Sabrina Evans 
  3. 2017- Kevin Lanthier
  4. 2017- Remi Laflamme
  5. 2017- Anthony Evans
  6. 2016- Valerie Paquin
  7. 2016- Lilianne Morin 
  8. 2015Vera Guber
  9. 2015- Carl Atiyeh 
  10. 2013- Sarah Geunest
  11. 2012- Felix Beaudoin
  12. 2011 Ihab El Kandil
  13. 2010Sophie Tremblay
%d bloggers like this: